In a Dark, Dark Wood: A Review (of sorts)

If you’re in the mood for a mystery/thriller, but not as gritty as a Gillian Flynn novel, In a Dark, Dark Wood may interest you.

If you like books that explore amnesia and dysfunctional friendships or that contain mysterious footprints in the snow, a secluded glass house in the middle of nowhere, no cell phone reception, phone lines that have been cut yet no one seems to question why, reclusive writers, people who prefer tea over coffee, British slangs and idioms, and old flames that don’t ever die out, then this is the perfect book for you.

The protagonist, Norah, never felt real to me, but I don’t think the character was supposed to be sympathetic right away.  Ware made her character one that the reader eases into.  in-a-dark-dark-wood

The plot line was just alright, and the juxtaposition of memory and contemporary time worked out okay.  The ending was predictable, but many of these books aren’t notorious for their surprise.  Well, that’s not entirely true: Flynn knows how to rock a plot line and twist it around.  However, this had an ending I could see coming from fairly early on, yet the book was just interesting enough for me to keep on reading to see if I was right.

I usually judge a book on how strongly it beckons me as it sits on the night stand.  This book sat there, silent, for many days.  It was the fact that I had to start reading the next book for my book club that made me pick this one back up and carry on.

I give it a firm “meh.” 4cb

P.S.  I was not aware until 5 seconds ago that they are making this into a movie.  And what do you know, my new buddy is on board.

Leave a Reply

